Synonyms: G10 FX, G10 Currencies

The G10 currencies are the ten most heavily traded currencies in the world, which as a result means they are also ten of the world’s most liquid currencies. Traders regularly buy and sell the G10 currencies in an open market without causing any impact on their own international exchange rates.

The origin of the term “G10 currencies” is opaque, however, it is almost certainly derived from the idea of G-10 countries and their agreement to participate in the IMF General Arrangements to Borrow (GAB).

That being said, there is not a one-to-one match between the G10 currencies and the G10 countries.

The G10 currencies are:

  • United States dollar (USD)
  • Euro (EUR)
  • Pound sterling (GBP)
  • Japanese yen (JPY)
  • Australian dollar (AUD)
  • New Zealand dollar (NZD)
  • Canadian dollar (CAD)
  • Swiss franc (CHF)
  • Norwegian krone (NOK)
  • Swedish krona (SEK)

In some banking circles there are references made to the “G11 currencies”, which are the G10 currencies with the addition of the Danish Krone.

Back to Glossary